显示器

LED显示屏和LCD显示屏有什么区别?

虽然有大 LCD和LED显示屏的区别,市场上有很多不应该发生的混乱。 部分混乱来自制造商。 我们将在下面进行澄清。

LCD 显示器与 LED 显示器

LCD代表“液晶显示器”。 LCD本身不能发光; 它必须使用背光。 过去,制造商使用CCFL(冷阴极荧光灯)作为背光,体积庞大且不环保。 然后,随着LED(发光二极管)技术的发展,越来越多的背光源使用LED。 制造商将它们命名为 LED 显示器或电视,这让消费者认为他们正在购买 LED 显示器。 但 从技术上讲,LED和LCD电视都是液晶显示器. 基本技术是相同的,两种类型的电视都有两层偏光玻璃,液晶既可以阻挡光线,也可以通过光线。 所以说真的,LED 电视是液晶电视的一个子集。

量子点显示器

量子点电视 近年来也被广泛讨论。 它基本上是一种新型的 LED 背光液晶电视。 图像的创建就像它在 LCD屏幕,但量子点技术 增强颜色。

对于普通 LCD 显示器,当您点亮显示器时,即使是不需要的区域(例如,某些区域需要黑色),所有 LED 也会亮起。 无论 LCD 显示器做得多么完美,通过 LCD 显示器的透光率仍然很小,这使得制作超黑背景变得困难。 对比度降低。
量子点电视可以拥有采用局部调光技术的全阵列背光量子点集(有利于图像均匀性和更深的黑色)。 可以有没有局部调光的边缘发光量子点集(更薄,但您可能会看到光带和更灰的黑色)。

RGB 滤光片中使用了光发射量子点粒子,用 QD 层取代了传统的彩色光刻胶。 量子点被来自显示面板的蓝光激发,发出纯基色,减少了RGB滤光片中的光损失和颜色串扰,提高了显示亮度和色域。 虽然该技术主要用于 LED 背光 LCD,但它也适用于其他使用彩色滤光片的显示技术,例如蓝色/UV AMOLED(有源矩阵有机发光二极管)/QNED(量子纳米发光二极管)/Micro LED显示面板。 LED 背光 LCD 是量子点的主要应用,用于替代非常昂贵的 OLED 显示器。

Micro LED 和 Mini LED

Micro LED是真正的LED显示屏 不躲在背后 LCD 显示为背光。 它是一种新兴的平板显示技术. Micro LED 显示器由形成单个像素元素的微型 LED 阵列组成。 与广泛使用的 LCD 技术相比,micro-LED 显示器具有更好的对比度、响应时间和能效。

Micro LED 可用于小型、低能耗设备,例如 AR 眼镜、VR 耳机、智能手表和智能手机。 与传统 LCD 系统相比,Micro LED 大大降低了能源需求,同时具有非常高的对比度。 Micro-LED 的无机特性使其使用寿命超过 100,000 小时。

截至 2020 年,Micro LED 显示器尚未量产,但索尼、三星和康佳销售 microLED 视频墙,Luumii 量产 microLED 照明。 LG、天马、PlayNitride、TCL/CSoT、Jasper Display、Jade Bird Display、Plessey Semiconductors Ltd 和 Ostendo Technologies, Inc. 已经展示了原型。 索尼和 Freedeo 已经在销售 microLED 显示器,以替代传统的电影屏幕。 京东方、晶电和利亚德都有microLED量产计划。 MicroLED 可以制成柔性和透明的,就像 OLED 一样。
LCD 背光中使用的 mini-LED 与量子点显示器之间存在一些混淆。 据我们了解, mini-LED只是比micro LED更大的尺寸,可用于更大尺寸的影院屏幕、广告墙、高端家庭影院 等。在讨论 Mini-LED 和 Micro-LED 时,区分两者的一个非常常见的特征是 LED 尺寸。 Mini-LED 和 Micro-LED 均基于无机 LED。 顾名思义,Mini-LED 被视为毫米范围内的 LED,而 Micro-LED 则被视为微米范围内。 然而,现实中的区分并没有那么严格,定义可能因人而异。 但人们普遍认为,micro-LED 的尺寸小于 100 µm,甚至小于 50 µm,而 mini-LED 的尺寸要大得多。

当应用于显示行业时,尺寸只是人们谈论的一个因素 Mini-LED 和 Micro-LED 显示器. 另一个特点是 LED 的厚度和基板。 Mini-LED 的厚度通常超过 100 µm,这主要是由于 LED 基板的存在。 虽然 Micro-LED 通常基板较少,因此成品 LED 非常薄。
用于区分两者的第三个特征是用于处理 LED 的传质技术。 Mini-LED 通常采用传统的拾放技术,包括表面贴装技术. 每次可以传输的 LED 数量都是有限的。 对于Micro-LED而言,当使用异质目标基板时,通常需要转移数百万个LED,因此一次转移的LED数量明显更多,因此应考虑破坏性传质技术。

看到使我们的世界丰富多彩的各种显示技术令人兴奋。 我们绝对相信 LCD 和/或 LED 显示器将在未来的 metaverse 中扮演非常重要的角色。
如果您对 Orient Display 显示器和触摸屏有任何疑问。 请随时联系: 业务咨询, 客户服务 or 服务端技术支持 .

联系我们

Uncategorized

What is the difference between LED and LCD display?

Although there are big differences between LCD and LED displays, there are a lot of confusion in the market which shouldn’t happen. Part of the confusion comes from the manufacturers. We will clarify as below.

LCD Displays vs LED Displays

LCD stands for “liquid crystal display”. LCD can’t emit light itself; it has to use a backlight. In the old days, manufacturers used to use CCFL (cold cathode fluorescent lamps) as backlight, which is bulky and not environment friendly. Then, with the development of LED (light emitting diode ) technology, more and more backlights use LEDs. The manufacturers name them as LED monitors or TV which makes the consumers think they are buying LED displays. But technically, both LED and LCD TVs are liquid crystal displays. The basic technology is the same in that both television types have two layers of polarized glass through which the liquid crystals both block and pass light. So really, LED TVs are a subset of LCD TVs.

Quantum Dot Displays

Quantum-dot TVs are also widely discussed for recent years. It is basically a new type of LED-backlit LCD TV. The image is created just like it is on an LCD screen, but quantum-dot technology enhances the color.

For normal LCD displays, when you light up the display, all the LEDs light up even for unwanted area (for example, some areas need black). Whatever perfect the LCD display made, there is still small percentage of light transmitting through the LCD display which makes it difficult to make the super black background. The contrast decreases.
Quantum-dot TV can have full-array backlit quantum-dot sets with local-dimming technology (good for image uniformity and deeper blacks). There can be edge-lit quantum-dot sets with no local dimming (thinner, but you may see light banding and grayer blacks).

Photo-emissive quantum dot particles are used in RGB filters, replacing traditional colored photoresists with a QD layer. The quantum dots are excited by the blue light from the display panel to emit pure basic colors, which reduces light losses and color crosstalk in RGB filters, improving display brightness and color gamut. Although this technology is primarily used in LED-backlit LCDs, it is applicable to other display technologies which use color filters, such as blue/UV AMOLED(Active Matrix Organic Light Emitting Diodes)/QNED(Quantum nano-emitting diode)/Micro LED display panels. LED-backlit LCDs are the main application of quantum dots, where they are used to offer an alternative to very expensive OLED displays.

Micro LEDs and Mini LEDs

Micro LED is true LED display without hiding at the backside of the LCD display as backlight. It is an emerging flat-panel display technology. Micro LED displays consist of arrays of microscopic LEDs forming the individual pixel elements. When compared with widespread LCD technology, micro-LED displays offer better contrast, response times, and energy efficiency.

Micro LEDs can be used at small, low-energy devices such as AR glasses, VR headsets, smartwatches and smartphones. Micro LED offers greatly reduced energy requirements when compared to conventional LCD systems while has very high contrast ratio. The inorganic nature of micro-LEDs gives them a long lifetime of more than 100,000 hours.

As of 2020, micro LED displays have not been mass-produced, though Sony, Samsung and Konka sell microLED video walls and Luumii mass produces microLED lighting. LG, Tianma, PlayNitride, TCL/CSoT, Jasper Display, Jade Bird Display, Plessey Semiconductors Ltd, and Ostendo Technologies, Inc. have demonstrated prototypes. Sony and Freedeo already sells microLED displays as a replacement for conventional cinema screens. BOE, Epistar and Leyard have plans for microLED mass production. MicroLED can be made flexible and transparent, just like OLEDs.
There are some confusions between mini-LED used in LCD backlight as Quantum dot displays. To our understanding, mini-LED is just bigger size of micro LED which can be used for larger size of cinema screen, advertisement walls, high end home cinema etc. When discussing Mini-LED and Micro-LED, a very common feature to distinguish the two is the LED size. Both Mini-LED and Micro-LED are based on inorganic LEDs. As the names indicate, Mini-LEDs are considered as LEDs in the millimeter range while Micro-LEDs are in the micrometer range. However, in reality, the distinction is not so strict, and the definition may vary from person to person. But it is commonly accepted that micro-LEDs are under 100 µm size, and even under 50 µm, while mini-LEDs are much larger.

When applied in the display industry, size is just one factor when people are talking about Mini-LED and Micro-LED displays. Another feature is the LED thickness and substrate. Mini-LEDs usually have a large thickness of over 100 µm, largely due to the existence of LED substrates. While Micro-LEDs are usually substrate less and therefore the finished LEDs are extremely thin.
A third feature that is used to distinguish the two is the mass transfer techniques that are utilized to handle the LEDs. Mini-LEDs usually adopt conventional pick and place techniques including surface mounting technology. Every time the number of LEDs that can be transferred is limited. For Micro-LEDs, usually millions of LEDs need to be transferred when a heterogenous target substrate is used, therefore the number of LEDs to be transferred at a time is significantly larger, and thus disruptive mass transfer technique should be considered.

It is exciting to see all the kinds of display technologies which make our world colorful. We definitely believe that LCD and/or LED displays will pay very important roles in the future metaverse.
If you have any questions about Orient Display displays and touch panels. Please feel free to contact: Sales Inquiries, Customer Service or Technical Support.

Contact Us