LCD Display Pixel Term, Resolution & Aspect Ratio

The display resolution of a LCD is the number of distinct pixels in each dimension that can be displayed. It is usually quoted as width × height, with the units in pixels. Download Orient Display Resolution Guide for further information.

If we need to know how densely the pixels are clustered, that is covered by another metric, called PPI (Pixels Per Inch). It is a unit of measure quantify the number of pixels found on one inch horizontally or vertically. For example, a 200×200 pixel image printed in a 1 inch square has a resolution of 200 pixels per inch.

What about the numbers: 720p, 1080p, 1440p, 2K, 4K and 8K?

When high-definition TVs became popular, manufacturers developed a shorthand to explain their display resolution. The most common numbers you see are 720p, 1080p, 1140p or 4K., the “p” and the “K” tell you whether it is a progressive-scan or an interlaced-scan display. Moreover, these shorthand numbers are sometimes used to describe computer monitors as well, even though in general a monitor is capable of a higher definition display than a TV. The number always refers to the number of horizontal lines on the display.

  • 720p = 1280 x 720 – is usually known as HD or “HD Ready” resolution
  • 1080p = 1920 x 1080 – is usually known as FHD or “Full HD” resolution
  • 1440p = 2560 x 1440 – is commonly known as QHD or Quad HD resolution, and it is typically seen on gaming monitors and on high-end smartphones. 1440p is four times the resolution of 720p HD or “HD ready.” To make things even more confusing, many premium smartphones feature a so-called 2960×1440 Quad HD+ resolution, which still fits into 1440p.
  • 2K refers to 2048 × 1080. However, in the consumer market, it would be considered 1080p. To make things worse, some display manufacturers use the term 2K for resolutions like 2560×1440, because their displays have a horizontal resolution of 2000 pixels or more. Unfortunately, that is incorrect, as this resolution is 1440p, or Quad HD, and not 2K.
  • 4K or 2160p = 3840 x 2160 – is commonly known as 4K, UHD or Ultra HD resolution. It is a huge display resolution, and it is found on premium TVs and computer monitors. 2160p is called 4K because the width is close to 4000 pixels. In other words, it offers four times the pixels of 1080p FHD or “Full HD.”
  • 8K or 4320p = 7680 x 4320 – is known as 8K and it offers 16 times more pixels than the regular 1080p FHD or “Full HD” resolution. For now, you see 8K only on expensive TVs from Samsung and LG.

What is the Aspect Ratio?

The aspect ratio of an image describes the proportional relationship between its width and its height. It is commonly expressed as two numbers separated by a colon, as in 16:9. For an x:y aspect ratio, no matter how big or small the image is, if the width is divided into x units of equal length and the height is measured using this same length unit, the height will be measured to be y units.

Orient Display: 16:9 vs 4:3 aspect ratio

16:9 vs 4:3 aspect ratio


Depending on the aspect ratio of your display, you can use only resolutions that are specific to its width and height. Some of the most common resolutions that can be used for each aspect ratio are the following:

  • 4:3 aspect ratio resolutions: 640×480, 800×600, 960×720, 1024×768, 1280×960, 1400×1050, 1440×1080, 1600×1200, 1856×1392, 1920×1440, and 2048×1536.
  • 16:10 aspect ratio resolutions: 1280×800, 1440×900, 1680×1050, 1920×1200, and 2560×1600.
  • 16:9 aspect ratio resolutions: 1024×576, 1152×648, 1280×720 (HD), 1366×768, 1600×900, 1920×1080 (FHD), 2560×1440 (QHD), 3840×2160 (4K), and 7680 x 4320 (8K).

Click the following link to calculate aspect ratio:

The popular LCD resolution and pixel terms are listed as below.

LCD Standard LCD Pixels LCD Term
SQCIF 128 x 96 Sub CIF
QCIF 176 x 144 Quarter CIF
CGA 320 x 200 Color Graphics Adapter 
QVGA 320 x 240 Quarter VGA
CIF 352 x 288 Common Intermediate Format
WQVGA 400 x 240 Wide QVGA
EGA 640 x 350 Extended-Graphics-Adapter 
VGA 640 x 480 Video Graphics Array 
WVGA 800 x 480 Wide VGA
SVGA 800 x 600 Super VGA
XGA 1024 x 768 Extended Graphics Array
XVGA 1280 x 960 Extended Video Graphics Array
SXGA 1280 x 1024 Super SGA
SXGA+ 1400 x 1050 Super eXtended VGA plus 
SXGA-W 1600 x 1024  
UXGA 1600 x 1200 Ultra XGA
WXGA 1366 x 768 Wide XGA
WSXGA 1680 x 1050  
WUXGA 1920 x 1200  
QXGA 2048 x 1536 Quad Extended Graphics Array
WQXGA 2560 x 1600  
QSXGA 2560 x 2048